Breeding column | 7 - Targeted sequencing of genotyping

2022-11-04

Targeted sequencing is a method to isolate, enrich and sequence a group of target genes or genome regions. This method enables researchers to focus time, cost and data analysis on specific regions of interest (target regions, genes), and use less data to obtain higher sensitivity and accuracy, so as to achieve rapid screening of mutation sites. These target regions usually include exome (the protein coding part of the genome), specific genes of interest (customized content), and target regions in genes or mitochondrial DNA.

Breeding column | 6-New genotyping technology: FBI seq

2022-10-28

FBI seq (Foreground and Background Integrated genotyping by sequencing) is not sequencing by the US Federal Bureau of Investigation, but genotyping sequencing integrating foreground and background. As the name implies, this technology realizes the detection and selection of foreground genes and genetic background at the same time. The selection of foreground and background is two very important steps in molecular breeding. At present, breeders often need to carry out these two steps independently: first, screen foreground target sites, and then develop a large number of probes/bait/PCR primers to detect background genotypes. These time-consuming and costly preparations greatly delay the start of breeding projects.

Special Column on Breeding | 5 - Low Depth Resequencing of Genotyping

2022-10-21

The genotype detected by the method of high depth re sequencing is undoubtedly the most comprehensive, but at present, the cost of application in animal and plant breeding is too high, especially for those species with complex and huge genomes. As mentioned in the previous issue, researchers usually use a unique library construction method to carry out simplified genome sequencing (RAD seq), thereby reducing the cost of genotyping. However, the amount of simplified genome data is generally only 1~10% of the total genome, and a lot of information is still lost. Pool sequencing is also an effective way to reduce the cost of population research, but it cannot analyze individuals, which has little effect on animal and plant breeding.

Special Column on Breeding | Solid Phase Chip for 4-Genotyping

2022-10-07

The layman who hears "gene chip" for the first time can easily connect it with the electronic chip of industrial integrated circuit. In fact, except that they all use micro technology to make the appearance more similar, they have nothing to do with each other and are purely porcelain. Gene chip, also known as DNA chip, biochip or DNA microarray, is based on the principle of specific interaction between molecules, integrating discontinuous analysis processes on the surface of solid phase chips such as silicon or glass, to achieve accurate, rapid and large detection of cells, proteins, genes and other biological components. According to specific scientific research and application contents, gene chips can be subdivided into microarray comparative genomic hybridization (a-CGH) chips, microRNA chips, SNP chips, expression profile chips, DNA methylation chips and chromatin immunoprecipitation chips.

Special Column on Breeding | 3 - Development and Characteristics of Molecular Markers

2022-09-30

Under the popular understanding, in our daily life, we usually need to find a landmark building to get a location when going to a certain place. Similarly, the search and location of genes or sites distributed on genome chromosomes also need to be guided by markers, so molecular markers are identified by nucleotides and other molecules. Polymorphism is the most important feature of markers. As the name implies, polymorphism is a variety of states, that is, diversity. A gene/locus can be distinguished and compared only when it is in different states and has differences in different materials. That is the meaning of molecular markers.

< 1 >

表型:育种的起点和终点

2023-09-28

当DNA的双螺旋结构被徐徐打开,育种家也打随之打开了更多的法宝箱,育种技术的提升,品种也变得越来越多,越来越好,而最终能让某一个品种走向神坛的,却只有四个字:表现为王。表型,始终是育种家判卷的唯一标准,也是市场检验的唯一指标。

育种专栏 | 7-基因分型之靶向测序

2022-11-04

靶向测序是将一组目标基因或基因组区域分离出来,并进行富集和测序的方法。该方法使得研究人员将时间、费用和数据分析聚焦在感兴趣的特定区域(靶标区域、基因),利用较少的数据量就能得到较高的灵敏度和准确度,实现对变异位点的快速筛选。这些靶标区域通常包括外显子组(基因组的蛋白质编码部分)、感兴趣的特定基因(定制内容),以及基因或线粒体DNA中的目标区域等。

育种专栏 | 6-基因分型新技术:FBI-seq

2022-10-28

FBI-seq(Foreground and Background Integrated genotyping by sequencing),不是美国联邦调查局测序,而是整合前景与背景的基因分型测序。顾名思义,该项技术实现了对前景基因和遗传背景同时进行了检测和选择。前景与背景的选择在分子育种中是两个非常重要的步骤,目前育种家们往往需要分开独立地进行这两步:即首先筛选前景目标位点,然后开发大量的探针/诱饵/PCR引物进行背景基因型的检测,这些耗时长与高投入成本的准备工作大大延迟了育种项目的启动。

育种专栏 | 5-基因分型之低深度重测序

2022-10-21

使用高深度重测序的方法检出的基因型无疑是最全面的,但目前应用于动植物育种的成本过高,尤其是对那些具有复杂的、庞大基因组的物种而言。上期我们提到,研究人员通常利用独特的文库构建方法来进行简化基因组测序(RAD-seq),从而降低基因分型成本。但简化基因组数据量一般只有全部基因组的1~10%,仍然丢失了大量信息。混池测序(Pool-seq)虽说也是群体研究一种有效降低成本的方式,但无法对个体进行分析,这对于动植物育种而言作用不大。

育种专栏 | 4-基因分型之固相芯片

2022-10-07

首次听到“”基因芯片“”的外行人很容易将其与工业上集成电路的电子芯片联系起来,实际上它们除了都利用缩微技术使得外观比较像以外,其他没什么关系,纯属碰瓷。基因芯片又称为DNA 芯片、生物芯片或DNA微阵列等,是根据分子间的特异性相互作用的原理,将不连续的分析过程集成于硅或玻璃等固相芯片表面,以实现对细胞、蛋白质、基因及其他生物成分的准确、快速、大量的检测。根据特定的科研应用内容,基因芯片可以细分为微阵列比较基因组杂交( a-CGH) 芯片、microRNA 芯片、SNP芯片、表达谱芯片、DNA甲基化芯片和染色质免疫共沉淀芯片等。

育种专栏 | 3-分子标记发展及其特点

2022-09-30

通俗理解下,我们在日常生活中,去某个地方通常需要寻找某个标志性建筑来获得定位。同样地,寻找和定位分布在基因组染色体上的基因或位点也需要通过标记来导航,那么分子标记就是通过核苷酸等分子来进行标识的。多态性是标记最重要的特征,顾名思义,多态即多种状态,也就是差异性。一个基因/位点在不同材料中处于不同状态,具有差异,才能进行区分和比较。也就是分子标记的意义所在。

< 12 >